Green Beer, Green Eggs and Ham, and Green…..

Image

 

Let’s be honest, for those of us who are “celebrating” St. Patty’s day with a little revelry, lots of green stuff is going to be making its way into our stomachs. I’m not what you would call a big drinker, so it doesn’t take that many green beers to get me happy as a pig in mud.

As I type this, I am already as happy as a pig in mud. My daughter is staying with a friend tonight, so, I thought I would go out and celebrate the holiday. Sure, the actual holiday is in Ireland but I didn’t have the $ to go there. So, I did the next best thing, I drank some green beer, sang some Irish songs, and I became 100 % Irish. Hell, I even thought at one point I saw St. Patty himself.

My point here, I think, is that on St. Patty’s day, everyone is Irish. Many of us, me included, seem to somehow overdo it just a weeeeeeeeeeee bit, and then we pay the consequences. We start getting LOUD, we act like total drunken Irishmen, and sometimes, we do things we shouldn’t.

Luckily, I am home now so there isn’t much chance of that, but, I will continue to party on Garth, and then probably fall asleep watching Brigadoon. “Why you ask”, well, because I don’t do it that often and I can. Will I be hung over tomorrow at work, yup, but I figure a couple of times a year won’t kill any of us.

So, here’s what I propose, raise a glass of green Killian’s, a pint of stout, or a Guinness, let’s give a drunken cheer and toast St. Patty, as tomorrow and all the woes that come with it will be here soon enough.

 Happy St. Patty’s Day.

Leave a comment